Myopia

November 23, 2014 at 4:34 pm (Dani Clark, Poetry)

You said once my hair

made you realize how you’d never noticed anyone else’s

proximity breeds this appreciation

brush my long brown hair

it won’t be so for long

 

so much is made of the big picture

perspective how you need it so

indispensable to seeing

the forest for the trees

or the universe

and our relative insignificance

 

I place all my faith in myopia though

 

in this one tree

in which the earth turns

next to my balcony

 

you too I see up close

what others never so far in

 

make me a promise

that when you a see a cloud

its shape a poem

you will think of my hair or hip curve

 

this kind of death do us part

a seeing magnified a remembering.

– Dani Clark

Leave a Reply

