Sand Dollar

September 7, 2014 at 5:48 am (Dani Clark, Poetry)

A perfect sand dollar
I saw at my toes

so round and white
washed up by waves
that like
a spread of fingers
on the skin
of someone’s back
caressed the shore
back and forth
up and down.

I bent and took it
and realized

it was only the bottom
of a Styrofoam cup.

I can’t stop, won’t stop
my heart’s eagle eyes
from making these holograms
amid the grains of sand
so ravishing and real
for as long as they last.

Until I look closer.

– Dani Clark

Leave a Reply

