Magnolias

April 12, 2014 at 9:19 am (Dani Clark, Poetry)

I wish I could tell someone about these magnolias
blooming on trees here and me laying and looking up

from a sunburnt bench alone during my lunch break
watching them flitter against the bluest sky imaginable

how limpid the air is and that the birds are chirping
how a petal fell on my face and I split the silken thing

once, twice and again until the pieces started browning
how I didn’t think about God or my little son

but of wanting to share the joy that is dying

how I have no one but myself to share this spectacle with
which caused a sob to roil up from some unknown depth

no, sitting here has to be enough even knowing the tree
dies and so do I and cities eventually turn to dust

– Dani Clark

Leave a Reply

