I Walked

August 26, 2012 at 9:57 am (Dominic Alapat, Poetry)

 

and walked in

the noonday sun

till my clothes

turned into a river

I swam through

the heavy traffic

asking for directions

no one knew the place

I wanted to go

I walked back and reached

the railway station

with crowds swarming

all around the bus depot

the streets the restaurants

the tea-stalls

the street-food sellers’ carts

rickshaws puttered everywhere

then someone pointed out

the building

well I had passed this place

but never thought this building

could be here

it was off the street

in a cluster of several others

I was looking for a seven-storey building

and not spotting one on both sides

of the road

had walked on and on

entering its cool foyer

for a moment I imagined

how nice it would be

if I could forget myself

forget my purpose here

if the lift with its sliding iron doors

forgetting its too

could take me straight to the sky

where large white clouds were blowing

unthinking in every direction

unmindful of anything

that happened here.

– Dominic Alapat

Leave a Reply

